No Noodle Lasagna Stacks

I love pasta. That has probably been the hardest thing I had to admit when I started tracking my macros and trying to stay within certain limits. I loved pasta so much that I was eating WAY too many grams of carbohydrates per day.

But giving up pasta doesn’t mean I have to give up the yummy flavors of Italian foods. I just need to figure out some healthy swaps for the noodles.

Well I already made some spaghetti squash lasagna, but I wanted to figure out another way to enjoy the flavors of lasagna without using spaghetti squash.

What can I use? Of course! Eggplant. Eggplant pairs so well with the flavors traditionally found in Italian foods, why wouldn’t it work well?

And when I made this recipe, it turned out so well, I wanted to keep eating it for days. YUM! I know you will enjoy it as well. This is a completely vegetarian meal, but you could add in a meat of your choice to the sauce.

No Noodle Lasagna Stacks

  • 2 medium size eggplants, sliced into 1/2 inch slices
  • 3 servings of homemade marinara sauce, or 1 jar of sauce of your choice
  • 1 T olive oil
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Salt
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese (I used reduced fat)
  • 1 cup cottage cheese (I used fat free)

Heat oven to 425 degrees. Place the sliced eggplant on a greased cookie sheet or a non-stick cooking mat. Brush both sides with olive oil and season with Italian seasoning and salt. Bake for 20 minutes, flipping the slices 1/2 way through cooking.

Reduce temperature of oven to 350 degrees.

While oven is cooling, make your stacks. First, mix all of the cottage cheese with 3/4 cup mozzarella.

Place one slice down as the bottom layer. Add marinara sauce and cottage cheese/mozzarella mix. Layer with another slice of eggplant. Repeat to create 3 layers. Make 9 stacks.

Bake for 15 minutes and with 5 minutes left, top with remaining mozzarella cheese.

Remove from oven and serve with a salad.

One serving is 3 stacks and the macro count for one serving is:

  • 13 grams fat
  • 27 grams carbohydrates
  • 27 grams protein

Leave a comment