Grilled Chicken with Cherries and Peaches

When it comes to the kitchen, I am usually the one to do all of the cooking. I love it–baking and cooking are my passions and since I am trying to be the healthiest version of myself I can be, knowing what is going into my recipes/being able to modify them to my needs makes it easier to stay healthy without sacrificing flavor.

And, if I am honest, my liking of control is met by me doing the cooking.

However, one area where I will relinquish control is the grill. My husband likes cooking on the grill and it gives me a nice break every now and then to let him do the cooking while I can sit back and relax.

So, I am always on the look out for some great grill recipes, and when I found this one, I knew it was a winner. SC is the largest peach producing state (yes, they usually produce even more annually than the “Peach State” Georgia) and cherries are in season right now as well. Win-win!

This recipe calls for it all to be made on skewers, but you could modify it to grill just the chicken as whole pieces and oven roast the peaches and cherries if skewers are not your thing.

Grilled Chicken with Cherries and Peaches

Full credit for this recipe goes to Wholesomelicious. This is not my recipe and I make no claims on it.

  • 1 1/2 lbs chicken, cut until pieces
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 T honey
  • 2 T fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 2 cups cherries
  • 2 large peaches, chopped

In a blender, combine the balsamic vinegar, mustard, garlic, olive oil, and honey. Add rosemary and pulse for a few more seconds.

Place chicken and marinade in a large sealable baggie. Marinate for at least 30 minutes or up to 24 hours.

Prepare your grill. Skewer the cherries, peaches, and chicken. Grill until cooked fully.

Serve immediately.

This makes approximately 4 servings and each serving has a macro count of:

  • 4.3 grams fat
  • 20.2 grams carbohydrates
  • 38.4 grams protein

 

 

Leave a Reply

