Egg Souffle…sort of

Three square meals a day is what you need, right? We have all heard recently about the benefits of eating 4-5 smaller meals per day, but where did the idea of three square meals come from?

The Romans didn’t eat three meals. In fact, they usually ate only one large meal around what we call lunch time. After the Romans, religion largely influenced what and when foods could be eaten. That is when we started to see the concept of Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner appear. But what is the deal with Breakfast? Where did it come from?

In fact, it wasn’t until really the middle ages that the concept of breakfast even started to appear. The word entered the English language literally meaning “breaking the fast” from overnight, and around the 17th century is when the traditional concept of breakfast as we know it started to appear in everyday life (coffee, tea, scrambled eggs, eaten first thing in the morning). For more information, check out this BBC article.

For me, breakfast is the most important meal. I am usually starving by the time I wake up and since I exercise some mornings, I need to refuel my body right away. Breakfast is always my biggest meal. Unfortunately, since I am a little rushed in the morning Monday-Friday, I stay pretty consistent on what my breakfast is (eggs, hot cereal, maybe toast…), so when weekends come around, I look for new and exciting ways to have eggs and my hot cereals. This weekend included making an egg souffle. And it was amazing. So light and fluffy (the edges reminded me of a croissant) and the hint of lemon takes it to another level. It is pretty easy to make and doesn’t take all that long. The hardest part is whipping the egg whites.

If you have the time, I HIGHLY recommend this recipe to be added to your rotation. You won’t regret it!

Egg Souffle

  • 6 eggs at room temperature, separated*
  • 2 tsp sweetener of choice (I used stevia and raw sugar baking blend)
  • 4 T flour, sifted
  • 2/3 cup milk (dairy or nut) (I used skim milk)
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp olive oil

*the way I separate my eggs is messy, but the most efficient (at least for me). Break your egg in half and dump the egg into your hand–while holding your hand over the bowl you want the egg whites in. Gently move the yolk from hand to hand until the egg white falls off the yolk. Put the yolk in other bowl.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In one bowl, with an electric mixer, beat the egg whites until they are foamy. Add the sweetener and continue to beat until soft peaks form. This will take a few minutes. Your egg whites are ready when you can pull the beaters up and peaks form that form and then curl a bit at the top. Set aside.

In another bowl, combine the other ingredients but olive oil. Beat until smooth. Add 1/3 of the egg whites and stir well. Gently fold in remaining egg whites. Do NOT stir, gently fold. You will not be able to combine it completely, but if you over mix the egg whites, your souffle will not puff.

Heat an oven safe pan (8-9 inches) over medium high heat (I used a cast iron skillet). Add olive oil and once the oil is hot, dump the egg mixture in. Cook for 1-3 minutes until the edges are browned and crispy.

Immediately transfer to the oven and bake for 10 minutes. Do not move the pan or open the door until the timer is done.


Allow to cool for 3-4 minutes. Cut into 4 wedges and serve with fruit, syrup, jam, etc.


This recipe makes 4 servings and one serving (how I made it) has the following macros:

  • 9.5 grams fat
  • 7.5 grams carbohydrates
  • 12.4 grams protein

 

Leave a Reply

