Double Chocolate Pumpkin Cookies

If I was forced to pick the a flavor combination that I would love to eat forever, I would struggle to pick between dark chocolate mint and dark chocolate pumpkin.

I love mint anything but I am a fall baby at heart and absolutely adore pumpkin flavors. I am a PSL girl and have figured out how to make them at home in a healthier, lower sugar way! I will post my recipe for a healthier PSL when it isn’t scorching hot outside and a nice steaming latte sounds wonderful.

Back to the pumpkin. This weekend I was craving something a little sweet but mostly chocolate (I crave the flavor of chocolate, not the sugar. Give me a 90-100% bar of chocolate that is bitter and I am happy), and I decided to use the can of pureed pumpkin I had in my cabinet to make some chocolate cookies that are low in fat and carbohydrates.

I added a scoop of chocolate protein powder to this recipe, but you can easily omit that without altering the taste of the cookie.

Double Chocolate Pumpkin Cookies

  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin (make sure you get pureed pumpkin and not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 cup sweetener * (honey or sugar, see note at the end)
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 2 T dark cocoa powder
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (optional, can use other flavors as well)
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chunks (you could use semi sweet chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degree.

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the pumpkin and egg until well combined. Add in other ingredients except chocolate chunks and mix well. Gently stir in the chocolate chunks.

Scoop out the dough onto a greased cookie sheet (about 1 T per scoop). Bake for 12-16 minutes or until almost fully cooked.

The secret to baking is to always take out your baked goods right before they are completely cooked. Especially cookies and brownies. You want to remove these items from the oven when they are at the point of needing only 1-2 more minutes. 

Allow to cool on the sheet for 3-5 minutes and transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling. Store in an airtight container. Because these yield such a fudgy cookie, I opted to keep mine in the refrigerator.

This recipe should yield 24 cookies.


*Note: you can omit the sweetener completely (you probably won’t even miss it. I didn’t!) or you can use a sugar substitute. Make sure you check the ratio of the subsitute to sugar before adding. Some subsitutes are used at a smaller amount than traditional sugar to yield the same sweetness.

Macro counts for 1 cookie with the sweetener and protein powder added is:

  • 1.6 grams fat
  • 4.1 grams carbohydrates
  • 1.9 grams protein
Leave a Reply

