Blackened Cod

Recently I was in Columbus OH for a conference and one evening we went out to dinner in the Short North. If you have never been to Columbus before, the Short North is an area of Columbus chalked full of wonderful restaurants, shops, and local flair.

The restaurant we chose to eat at had a fresh catch of the day that included a blackened grouper and these amazingly wonderful zoodles. Had I realized how amazingly delicious the fish and zoodles would be, I probably would have ordered double to have some for the next day (I am sure my roommate would have loved the fishy smell in our hotel room…).

For the rest of the week, I kept on thinking about that dish and I knew I had to try to re-create it at home.

Unfortunately, my local fish market didn’t have grouper available when I went, but they did have some nice looking cod, so I decided to give that a try.

If you don’t like cod, you can swap this out for any other white fish if your choice or you could even use shrimp instead. You will just need to adjust your cooking times depending on the fish and size of the fillet you use.

Blackened Cod

  • 2 T paprika
  • 1 T dried thyme
  • 1 T dried oregano
  • 1 T onion powder
  • 1 T garlic powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 4 (5-6 oz) cod fillets
  • 1 T olive oil

Combine all the dry ingredients together in a small bowl. Place the cod on a plate and pat a layer of the seasonings mix on each side of the fillet.

Heat the olive oil in a non-stick skillet over medium heat. Once the oil is hot, add the fillets. Cook for about 3-4 minutes per side until the fish is white and flaky. Serve immediately.

One fillet is a serving and the macro counts for a 5 oz fillet is:

  • 7 grams fat
  • 5 grams carbohydrates
  • 39 grams protein

Click here for the zoodle recipe I paired with this dish.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

