Cherry Tomato, Leek, and Goat Cheese Quiche with Spaghetti Squash Crust

Breakfast is my all time favorite meal. Maybe that is because it is the first meal you eat in the day, maybe it is because I am always starving come breakfast time, or maybe it is because of all the delicious food options you have for breakfast!

I usually eat anywhere from 750-900 calories for breakfast alone. I know that sounds like a lot, but that is just the way my body works. If I don’t eat that much, I am hangry by mid-morning, I end up eating my lunch at 11am and my snacks are gone by 3pm. That means I still have to get through work, get in an hour at the gym, and have an hour drive home before I can eat anything else. Not a good idea–I tend to make really bad decisions for dinner when that happens.

When I found the recipe that served as an inspiration for my version, I was super excited to try it. It combines my love of breakfast with fresh vegetables and great flavors. The addition of leeks and goat cheese make this a rich and decedent dish, but if you are turned off by either of these flavors, you can certainly swap the leeks out for onions and the goat cheese for another soft cheese. But, I encourage you to try this recipe as is first before making the swap outs of these two items.

As always, this is a recipe is one that you can modify to meet your preferences, so please feel free to make it your own by adding any ingredients you wish. The addition of some mushrooms or breakfast meats would be lovely in this dish!

Cherry Tomato, Leek, and Goat Cheese Quiche with Spaghetti Squash Crust

Makes 8 servings

  • 1 lb spaghetti squash, cooked
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 5-6 eggs (I used 5 because my pan was too small to handle 6 eggs)
  • 4 oz goat cheese, crumbled
  • 9 oz package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and water squeezed out
  • 1/2 leek, chopped (be sure to rinse the leek well as they can be very dirty)
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese (I used fat free)
  • Cherry tomatoes (about one package’s worth), cut in 1/2
  • Fresh basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 9″ pie pan with cooking spray. Press the spaghetti squash into the bottom and sides of the pie pan to form the crust. Be sure to mash it together well to create a solid crust. Season the squash with salt and pepper. Pop it into the oven for 5-8 minutes to sweat out the squash a little bit.

Sprinkle the cheese over the crust. Lay the leeks over the cheese and layer with the spinach. Sprinkle some of the basil over the spinach and crumble the goat cheese on top. Layer the halved tomatoes over the top. The tomatoes should fill up the entire space. You will want the cut sides facing up. I used a mix of red, yellow, and green cherry tomatoes but you can use whatever kind you want.

In a bowl, mix the eggs and almond milk until well blended. Add salt and pepper to taste. I also added some smoked paprika and crushed red pepper. Carefully pour the egg mixture over the vegetables. Add more fresh basil if desired.

Bake for 40-45 minutes or until the edges of the crust are brown and the center does not jiggle when you shake the pie pan. Let cool for 10 minutes before cutting and serving. If your quiche is extremely full, I would encourage you to put a cookie sheet under the pie pan in case it runs over. A cookie sheet is much easier to clean than an oven!

As is, the macros for one serving is:

  • 6 grams fat
  • 3.6 grams carbohydrates
  • 11.15 grams protein

This recipe was adapted from The Food Charlatan.

 

 

Leave a Reply

